For the technique of racing starts, see racing start.
A boat starts when, having been entirely on the pre-start side of the starting line at or after her starting signal, and having complied with rule 30.1 if it applies, any part of her hull, crew or equipment crosses the starting line in the direction of the first mark.

So if I cross the starting line too early, have I started? Edit

No! A boat that has received a rule 30.1 penalty after the preparatory signal cannot start until after she has discharged that penalty. However, such a boat is still racing until she either retires or finishes.

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.